Education Support Leave Now Available

Effective July 1, 2015, all full-time, non-temporary employees who work at least 40 hours per week will have a new type of leave available for use.  House Bill 313 was signed into law this year and will provide eligible employees with up to eight (8) paid hours of Education Support Leave per calendar year. Eligible employees will be able to request to use the Education Support Leave to participate in activities related to student achievement and academic support that promote education in Georgia.  This leave will be available to all eligible employees, both parents of students and non-parents, and may be considered for activities supporting public, private, and home school achievement. Activities that promote education in Georgia may include, but are not limited to, some of the following:

  • Attend Parent/Teacher conferences
  • Participate in classroom activities, such as reading to a class or presenting on career day
  • Tutor students without receiving compensation
  • Proctor examinations
  • Attend award and recognition ceremonies or graduation exercises
  • Participate in field day activities or field trips
  • Attend open house functions

State Personnel Board Rule 478-1-.16, Absence from Work, has been revised to include guidance on this type of leave and may be viewed on the Department of Administrative Services’ website.  Eligible employees should contact their direct supervisor or their Human Resources office for guidance on requesting and using this type of leave. Through the Education Support Leave program, eligible employees have the opportunity to support education at all levels, from pre-K/early care and learning all the way through higher education.  Employees may wish to contact their local school systems, private schools, day care facilities, technical colleges, and/or universities to inquire about opportunities to support education initiatives in their communities and any background check or other criteria they would need to meet before participating in volunteer activities.

Commissioner Pete Wheeler passes away after 66 years of service to the State

Pete Wheeler, Commissioner

Commissioner Pete Wheeler, 1922-2015

The Georgia Department of Veterans Service regrets to announce the passing of Commissioner Pete Wheeler.

Commissioner Wheeler joined the GDVS in 1949 and led the agency since 1954. With 66 years of service, he was the longest-tenured employee in Georgia state government.

Other details will be announced later today on

# # #

For more information on the content of this news release, please contact the GDVS Public Information Division at 404-656-5933 or

Student Loan Relief and Assistance in 4 Easy Steps

grad capIn addition to the State’s 529 savings plan, which helps with saving for your child’s education, there are also some programs available for State Employees who, themselves, are looking for some financial assistance.

As a full-time State of Georgia employee, you have the opportunity to take advantage of the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program. Under this program, borrowers may qualify for forgiveness of the remaining balance of their Direct Loans after making 120 qualifying payments on those loans while employed full-time by certain public service employers. It is a quick and easy process, so get started by clicking the link below.

Step 1: Click the link above and read about the program. The screen received should look like the image to the right.student loan steps

Step 2: Download and Print the Public Service Loan Forgiveness (PSLF) Employment Certification Form.  As the employee and borrower, complete Sections 1 and 2.

Step 3: Request that your Human Resources Department representative complete Sections 3 and 4 and return the form back to you.

Step 4: Make a copy for your records and mail or fax the PSLF Certification Form. The address and fax number are located in Section 7.

Questions: Call 855-265-4038