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Dear Consumer Ed: 

 

I see a number of gas stations that offer 

a lower price if you use cash instead of 

a credit or debit card. At one station the 

cash price was $2.30 but the credit price 

was $3.20, although the only place that 

was displayed was on the pump itself. A 

90 cent price differential seems out of 

bounds to me. Are there any limits as to 

how much more a station is allowed to 

charge for using a credit card vs. 

cash?  Also, are gas stations required to 

display the credit card price so that it is 

easily readable when you are driving 

by? 

 

A:  Retail gas stations in Georgia are 

allowed to charge a convenience fee for 

consumers paying with a credit card 

subject to some restrictions. This 

convenience fee may be charged to 

cover the cost of the merchant fee 

imposed by credit card companies for 

processing the electronic transaction, 

which can be from 1% to 3.5% of every 

transaction. The convenience fee must 

be used by retailers to pay the credit card 

and debit card merchant fees, and 

retailers are not allowed to make a profit 

off of the convenience fee.  In addition, 

the retailer must provide consumers a 

direct payment option by cash or check 

that does not impose a convenience fee.   

 

The retailer must also provide clear 

disclosure of the convenience fee.  

Although the law does not require a 

retail gas station to display the credit 

card price so that it is visible from the 

road, notice of any convenience fee 

should be prominently displayed so that 

the consumer is aware of it at the point 

of sale.  

 

A 90 cent convenience fee added to a 

$2.30 per gallon cash price would appear 

to represent an amount that is in excess 

of the 1% to 3.5% fee permissible by 

law. If that is, in fact, the case,  you 

should contact the Georgia Department 

of Law's Consumer Protection Unit by 

visiting www.consumer.ga.gov, or by 

calling 404-651-8600.  

 

 

Got a question for Consumer Ed?  Go 

to ConsumerEd.com to submit your 

question and read additional consumer 

tips.  Remember…we do not give legal 

advice.  Always consult a lawyer about 

legal issues. 
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