State Offices Closed Wednesday, Jan. 17th; Gov. Deal Issues State of Emergency for 83 Counties

For immediate release                                                                                 Office of Communications

Jan. 16, 2018                                                                                                     (404) 651-7774


Deal issues emergency declaration for 83 counties

State of emergency extends northward from Columbus to Macon to Augusta; state government closed for non-essential personnel

Gov. Nathan Deal tonight issued a state of emergency due to winter weather for 83 counties, spanning much of central and north Georgia. This line extends from Columbus to Macon to Augusta and northward. State government will be closed tomorrow in the impacted areas for non-essential personnel.

“Following the latest update from the National Weather Service, and acting upon the recommendation from the state’s Emergency Operations Command, I’ve issued an executive order closing state government for non-essential personnel tomorrow,” said Deal. “The Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) will continue treating our roads and interstates. To ensure people’s safety and to allow GDOT to do its job, I urge people to remain home and off the roads. We will continue monitoring the weather and will provide updates as necessary.”

Read the emergency declaration here.

Comments are closed.